Year End Cleanup

slide73

Richard Thompson: Time To Ring Some Changes
[purchase]

I started Another Old Guy back in March intending to mostly write about music, but somewhere it began to veer off to include lots of politics.  While I intend to keep writing about politics and other things in 2017, I will try to write more often in general, and more often about music in particular.

Before I get there, though, I wanted to close the books on my music writing for 2016.

I didn’t get around to writing any more Cover Me features after my Hem piece, although I did contribute to  a Q&A about the Muppets, and to the year-end “Best Covers” compilation.  And my article about covers of John Prine’s “Angel From Montgomery” turned out to be the second most popular on the site in 2016.  For 2017, I’m thinking about writing a piece about Sting and one about The Mavericks.

This year, the number of my contributions to Star Maker Machine have dipped, but since the last roundup, I posted the following:

Harvest/Fall–a piece about Guy Clark’s “Homegrown Tomatoes” and my family’s garden;

My First Album–about Cat Stevens’ Tea For The Tillerman (which now sadly makes me think of the president-elect’s nominee for Secretary of State);

Politics–days after the election, I wrote about the  David Bowie/Pat Metheny collaboration, “This Is Not America,” from the soundtrack of The Falcon And The Snowman, quoting liberally (pun intended) from Hillary Clinton’s concession speech, which embodied what I thought was America;

It’s Over–a couple of weeks later, this theme inspired me to look back at NoFX’s attack on the lesser Bush administration, “Idiots Are Taking Over,” for its scary déjà vu effect;

Leftovers–for this annual event, I went back to the Ste* theme to write about three great prog rock guitarists named Steve;

Strange (Weird) Holidays–led me to this odd Hanukkah tune; and

In Memoriam–gave me the chance to revisit a time when I said something dumb to the late Naná Vasconcelos.

As it turns out, my piece on National Health’s “Tenemos Roads” was the most viewed at SMM, the one about Bram Tchaikovsky’s “Girl of My Dreams” came in second, and No. 6 was my look at Led Zeppelin’s “Four Sticks.”

Today’s featured song is by one of my favorite artists, Richard Thompson, “Time To Ring Some Changes,” which seems to be appropriate for year-end, and also includes these lyrics, which could well have been written about our soon to be Liar in Chief:

O the politicians they look so smug
You say tell the truth and they give you a shrug
You might find the truth swept under the rug
It’s time to ring some changes

I look forward to seeing Thompson again in 2017–I have my tickets for his show at the Tarrytown Music Hall.

Thank you all for reading Another Old Guy, and my other writing on Cover Me and SMM.  If you have any suggested topics for pieces here, or elsewhere, feel free to comment.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

