Roundup! Yee Hah!

The-Round-Up

The Feelies: The Last Roundup
[purchase]

I have an idea for an original, music-focused post, but this isn’t it.  This is another roundup of my writing for other sites.

My first real piece on Cover Me in a very long time put the spotlight on The Mavericks, timed cleverly to coincide with the release of the band’s new album.  I was particularly amused by their cover of Pink Floyd’s “Us and Them.”

There’s been a nice resurgence of posting at Star Maker Machine fueled in part by the return of Darius to active writing and encouraging the rest of us to write.  I continued a strange streak of TV related posts in the “Middle” theme with a look at The Rutles’ “Piggy In The Middle.”

We moved from the Middle to “Prison,” and I wrote about Christine Lavin’s “Prisoners of Their Hairdos,” which, to my utter delight, Ms. Lavin herself commented favorably upon.  Coincidentally, and unbeknownst to me, Lavin was working with my friend, the incredibly talented singer-songwriter Judy Kass, on a video about the post-election protests, and there’s one picture in which you can see a tiny bit of me.  Because it is all about me, right?

Next up was “Steel.”  I added a final “e” and remembered the great WNEW DJ Alison Steele, the Night Bird, including a song by Jimi Hendrix that she reportedly inspired.    I doubled up on that theme (a rarity for me these days–I think this year, I may not top the SMM year-end leaderboard for most posts) with a Southern rock flavored song from a band, Steel Mill, that might have been lost in the mists of history if its leader hadn’t been a young Bruce Springsteen.

My most recent post, for the new “70s Motown” theme, focused on Graham Parker & The Rumour’s great cover of the Jackson 5’s classic “I Want You Back.”

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been lucky to see three great shows at the Tarrytown Music Hall–Son Volt, Richard Thompson and The Jayhawks.  And shortly, I’ll be seeing Roger McGuinn there.

This entry was posted in Cross-Post, Downloads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

